HBAN · NASDAQ · Banks - Regional

Huntington Bancshares (HBAN)

Delivers consumer and commercial banking across a Midwest-to-Texas branch and specialty-finance network.

$15.69
vs last close−0.36 (−2.21%)

Huntington is a Columbus, Ohio bank, in business since the eighteen-hundreds, that grew by half in under a year by buying two banks in Texas and the South. Most of its money is still made the old way: take in deposits, lend them out for more. Payments, deal advice and wealth management ride on the same customers — and management has just warned that rates and price competition will deliver less than it hoped.

Item facts: Q2 FY2026 · quarter ended June 30, 2026, from filings, earnings calls and company pages.

Judgment weights, not filed revenue

Deposits & consumer loans~45%Business lending & leasing~30%Payments & card processing~11%Deal-making & trading~7%Wealth management~7%

The band summarizes business focus and direction. ~ marks estimates.

7 in detail · 12 more below

  • Consumer & Regional Banking

    · Segment

    The branch and household side: checking accounts, mortgages, car loans, small business. Its real job is cheap funding — about 72 cents of every revenue dollar the bank earns comes from lending deposits out for more than they cost. Watch the price of deposits: 1.88% and rising.

    Competes with Consumer banking (Fifth Third Bancorp) · Consumer banking (KeyCorp) · Consumer banking (Regions Financial)

    In plain English

    Start with the simplest trade in banking. Households and small businesses park money in checking and savings accounts, where it earns them little. Huntington lends that same money back out — for homes, cars, recreational vehicles and boats, and for small businesses — at a higher rate, and keeps the difference.

    Branches are how it collects: more than 1,400 of them across 21 states, alongside sign-ups online. The catch is that savers can walk. When they demand more interest the difference narrows, which is what happened this year — deposit costs climbed, and in September management cut what it expects to earn.

  • Cadence Bank franchise

    · Brand

    The $53B Houston and Tupelo bank bought in February 2026, which came with $36.9B of loans and a Southern footprint. Systems moved across in June. The promise attached to it: $435M of yearly cost savings from the two deals by the fourth quarter.

    Competes with Comerica's Texas franchise (Fifth Third Bancorp) · FirstBank (PNC)

    In plain English

    Buying a bank is mostly buying its customers and the money they keep there. Cadence was a $53B bank based in Houston and Tupelo, Mississippi, and it stretched Huntington's map from 14 states to 21.

    Two things had to go right. The savers had to stay — about 80% of maturing fixed-term deposits were kept when they came due. And the two banks had to end up running on one set of computers, which happened in June, 235 days after the deal was announced and covering 4,500 staff. New checking households have roughly doubled since February, from about 3,100 a month to about 5,900.

  • Vehicle Finance

    · Product line

    Car, recreational vehicle, boat and dealer-inventory lending, written through dealerships — roughly $15–16B of balances. Huntington walked away from about $2B of new loans in the first half because rivals priced too low; balances fell 4.3%.

    Competes with Auto finance (Ally Financial) · Auto Finance (Capital One) · Chase Auto (Chase)

    In plain English

    You sign the paperwork at the dealership, not at a bank branch. The dealer arranges the loan and Huntington funds it, keeping the interest the borrower pays. The same desk lends against recreational vehicles and boats, and lends to dealers so they can fill their lots in the first place.

    The trade is volume against price. When other lenders cut their rates, Huntington can match them and earn less on every loan, or write fewer loans. This year it chose fewer — passing on roughly $2B of first-half business because the returns were poor, which cost about a percentage point of the quarter's own loan growth.

  • Commercial Banking

    · Segment

    Lending and cash services for mid-sized and large companies, plus equipment finance and 15 specialty lending teams. Commercial loans rose 11% last quarter — but set the acquired banks aside and the whole loan book grew about 1.2%.

    Competes with Commercial banking (Fifth Third Bancorp) · Corporate & Institutional Banking (PNC) · Commercial banking (KeyCorp)

    In plain English

    Here the customer is a company, not a household. It borrows to buy equipment, property and inventory, and it parks its working cash at the bank that lends to it — which is how the fee businesses get their opening.

    Huntington runs 15 specialty teams built around particular kinds of borrower: healthcare companies, investment funds, other financial institutions, Native American enterprises. It is also one of the country's larger equipment lenders. Pulling the other way, it is deliberately running down loans against commercial property — about $800M in a single quarter, at twice the pace first planned — toward roughly a tenth of all lending.

  • Payments and Cash Management

    · Service

    The machinery of business money — company cash accounts, card payments taken at the till, corporate cards. $204M last quarter, up 24% on a year ago, or about 10% leaving the acquisitions aside. Fifth Third earns roughly $1B doing this at a similar size.

    Competes with Commercial Payments (Fifth Third Bancorp) · Treasury Management (PNC)

    In plain English

    Every business has a money problem that has nothing to do with borrowing: cash comes in from customers, goes out to suppliers, and somebody has to move it, count it and keep it safe. Banks sell that as a service, and the arrangement follows whichever bank is the company's main one.

    Huntington charges fees for handling those flows and earns a slice of each card payment it processes for a merchant. With the acquired customers the pitch is simply to sell them this too — more than 6,000 of them were signed up to its cash services during the June switchover.

  • Capital Markets and Advisory

    · ServiceRamping

    Advice on selling companies, arranging big shared loans, and bond trading — sold to the same business borrowers. $140M last quarter against $84M a year earlier, partly bought: three units came from Janney Montgomery Scott at the end of 2025. The most cycle-dependent line in the mix.

    Competes with Harris Williams (PNC) · Janney Montgomery Scott (KKR) · Middle-market M&A advisory (Lincoln International)

    In plain English

    When a mid-sized company decides to sell itself, someone has to find the buyer, argue the price and paper the deal — then charge for it, about $1M a deal on the ten-plus that Huntington handled for newly acquired customers. Capstone Partners, its in-house deal shop, does that work; Huntington Securities trades bonds alongside it.

    The advantage is the customer list, because the bank already lends to these companies and the advisers are meant to support that lending. The catch is that nothing is earned until a deal closes. Huntington bought its way to more of them, taking three units off Janney at the end of 2025 — a deal-advice firm, a desk that arranges borrowing for towns and states, and a bond desk.

  • Wealth and Asset Management

    · Service

    Investing, trusts and private banking for the bank's better-off customers. $134M last quarter against $102M a year earlier, and the share of customers using it has almost doubled over several years. Fees shrink automatically when markets fall.

    Competes with Key Private Bank (KeyCorp) · Wealth and Asset Management (Fifth Third Bancorp)

    In plain English

    Past a certain point, having money becomes a chore: what to invest it in, how to pass it to children, who keeps an eye on it. Huntington takes that off people's hands for an annual slice of the pile, and runs their day-to-day banking at the same time.

    These customers mostly come from inside the bank. They already have an account, and a branch or a private banker offers them the service — which is why management talks about the share of customers using it rather than about winning new ones. The design has a downside: when markets fall, the pile shrinks and the fee shrinks with it.

  • Consumer & Regional Banking· SegmentThe branch and household side: checking accounts, mortgages, car loans, small business. Its real job is cheap funding — about 72 cents of every revenue dollar the bank earns comes from lending deposits out for more than they cost. Watch the price of deposits: 1.88% and rising.

    The branch and household side: checking accounts, mortgages, car loans, small business. Its real job is cheap funding — about 72 cents of every revenue dollar the bank earns comes from lending deposits out for more than they cost. Watch the price of deposits: 1.88% and rising.

    In plain English

    Start with the simplest trade in banking. Households and small businesses park money in checking and savings accounts, where it earns them little. Huntington lends that same money back out — for homes, cars, recreational vehicles and boats, and for small businesses — at a higher rate, and keeps the difference.

    Branches are how it collects: more than 1,400 of them across 21 states, alongside sign-ups online. The catch is that savers can walk. When they demand more interest the difference narrows, which is what happened this year — deposit costs climbed, and in September management cut what it expects to earn.

    Competes with Consumer banking (Fifth Third Bancorp) · Consumer banking (KeyCorp) · Consumer banking (Regions Financial)

  • Cadence Bank franchise· BrandThe $53B Houston and Tupelo bank bought in February 2026, which came with $36.9B of loans and a Southern footprint. Systems moved across in June. The promise attached to it: $435M of yearly cost savings from the two deals by the fourth quarter.

    The $53B Houston and Tupelo bank bought in February 2026, which came with $36.9B of loans and a Southern footprint. Systems moved across in June. The promise attached to it: $435M of yearly cost savings from the two deals by the fourth quarter.

    In plain English

    Buying a bank is mostly buying its customers and the money they keep there. Cadence was a $53B bank based in Houston and Tupelo, Mississippi, and it stretched Huntington's map from 14 states to 21.

    Two things had to go right. The savers had to stay — about 80% of maturing fixed-term deposits were kept when they came due. And the two banks had to end up running on one set of computers, which happened in June, 235 days after the deal was announced and covering 4,500 staff. New checking households have roughly doubled since February, from about 3,100 a month to about 5,900.

    Competes with Comerica's Texas franchise (Fifth Third Bancorp) · FirstBank (PNC)

  • Vehicle Finance· Product lineCar, recreational vehicle, boat and dealer-inventory lending, written through dealerships — roughly $15–16B of balances. Huntington walked away from about $2B of new loans in the first half because rivals priced too low; balances fell 4.3%.

    Car, recreational vehicle, boat and dealer-inventory lending, written through dealerships — roughly $15–16B of balances. Huntington walked away from about $2B of new loans in the first half because rivals priced too low; balances fell 4.3%.

    In plain English

    You sign the paperwork at the dealership, not at a bank branch. The dealer arranges the loan and Huntington funds it, keeping the interest the borrower pays. The same desk lends against recreational vehicles and boats, and lends to dealers so they can fill their lots in the first place.

    The trade is volume against price. When other lenders cut their rates, Huntington can match them and earn less on every loan, or write fewer loans. This year it chose fewer — passing on roughly $2B of first-half business because the returns were poor, which cost about a percentage point of the quarter's own loan growth.

    Competes with Auto finance (Ally Financial) · Auto Finance (Capital One) · Chase Auto (Chase)

  • Commercial Banking· SegmentLending and cash services for mid-sized and large companies, plus equipment finance and 15 specialty lending teams. Commercial loans rose 11% last quarter — but set the acquired banks aside and the whole loan book grew about 1.2%.

    Lending and cash services for mid-sized and large companies, plus equipment finance and 15 specialty lending teams. Commercial loans rose 11% last quarter — but set the acquired banks aside and the whole loan book grew about 1.2%.

    In plain English

    Here the customer is a company, not a household. It borrows to buy equipment, property and inventory, and it parks its working cash at the bank that lends to it — which is how the fee businesses get their opening.

    Huntington runs 15 specialty teams built around particular kinds of borrower: healthcare companies, investment funds, other financial institutions, Native American enterprises. It is also one of the country's larger equipment lenders. Pulling the other way, it is deliberately running down loans against commercial property — about $800M in a single quarter, at twice the pace first planned — toward roughly a tenth of all lending.

    Competes with Commercial banking (Fifth Third Bancorp) · Corporate & Institutional Banking (PNC) · Commercial banking (KeyCorp)

  • Payments and Cash Management· ServiceThe machinery of business money — company cash accounts, card payments taken at the till, corporate cards. $204M last quarter, up 24% on a year ago, or about 10% leaving the acquisitions aside. Fifth Third earns roughly $1B doing this at a similar size.

    The machinery of business money — company cash accounts, card payments taken at the till, corporate cards. $204M last quarter, up 24% on a year ago, or about 10% leaving the acquisitions aside. Fifth Third earns roughly $1B doing this at a similar size.

    In plain English

    Every business has a money problem that has nothing to do with borrowing: cash comes in from customers, goes out to suppliers, and somebody has to move it, count it and keep it safe. Banks sell that as a service, and the arrangement follows whichever bank is the company's main one.

    Huntington charges fees for handling those flows and earns a slice of each card payment it processes for a merchant. With the acquired customers the pitch is simply to sell them this too — more than 6,000 of them were signed up to its cash services during the June switchover.

    Competes with Commercial Payments (Fifth Third Bancorp) · Treasury Management (PNC)

  • Capital Markets and Advisory· ServiceRampingAdvice on selling companies, arranging big shared loans, and bond trading — sold to the same business borrowers. $140M last quarter against $84M a year earlier, partly bought: three units came from Janney Montgomery Scott at the end of 2025. The most cycle-dependent line in the mix.

    Advice on selling companies, arranging big shared loans, and bond trading — sold to the same business borrowers. $140M last quarter against $84M a year earlier, partly bought: three units came from Janney Montgomery Scott at the end of 2025. The most cycle-dependent line in the mix.

    In plain English

    When a mid-sized company decides to sell itself, someone has to find the buyer, argue the price and paper the deal — then charge for it, about $1M a deal on the ten-plus that Huntington handled for newly acquired customers. Capstone Partners, its in-house deal shop, does that work; Huntington Securities trades bonds alongside it.

    The advantage is the customer list, because the bank already lends to these companies and the advisers are meant to support that lending. The catch is that nothing is earned until a deal closes. Huntington bought its way to more of them, taking three units off Janney at the end of 2025 — a deal-advice firm, a desk that arranges borrowing for towns and states, and a bond desk.

    Competes with Harris Williams (PNC) · Janney Montgomery Scott (KKR) · Middle-market M&A advisory (Lincoln International)

  • Wealth and Asset Management· ServiceInvesting, trusts and private banking for the bank's better-off customers. $134M last quarter against $102M a year earlier, and the share of customers using it has almost doubled over several years. Fees shrink automatically when markets fall.

    Investing, trusts and private banking for the bank's better-off customers. $134M last quarter against $102M a year earlier, and the share of customers using it has almost doubled over several years. Fees shrink automatically when markets fall.

    In plain English

    Past a certain point, having money becomes a chore: what to invest it in, how to pass it to children, who keeps an eye on it. Huntington takes that off people's hands for an annual slice of the pile, and runs their day-to-day banking at the same time.

    These customers mostly come from inside the bank. They already have an account, and a branch or a private banker offers them the service — which is why management talks about the share of customers using it rather than about winning new ones. The design has a downside: when markets fall, the pile shrinks and the fee shrinks with it.

    Competes with Key Private Bank (KeyCorp) · Wealth and Asset Management (Fifth Third Bancorp)

Named in filings, launches and programs

  • Residential mortgage and home equityProduct lineHome loans and borrowing against the value of a house — roughly 18% of the loan book; fees from writing and selling those loans ran $53M last quarter.
  • Equipment and asset financeProduct lineLending against the equipment companies run on. Huntington says it ranks fifth in the country, with the fourth quarter seasonally its strongest.
  • Specialty verticalsProduct lineFifteen lending teams each built around one kind of borrower — investment funds, healthcare companies, other financial institutions, Native American enterprises, corporate mortgage borrowers.
  • SBA lendingProduct lineGovernment-backed small-business loans. Management said in October 2025 that Huntington was the number one such lender in Texas.
  • Distribution financeProduct lineLending that lets dealers stock inventory they have not sold yet; balances swing with the season, once falling $747M in a single quarter.
  • Customer deposit and loan feesServiceAccount and loan charges paid by customers — $128M last quarter, up 19% on a year earlier once the acquisitions are set aside.
  • Private bankServiceBanking and lending for wealthier households, run out of the branch franchise and feeding customers into the wealth business.
  • Huntington insuranceServiceInsurance sold alongside the banking products; $29M last quarter, a small line that barely moves quarter to quarter.
  • Leasing revenueServiceIncome from leasing equipment out rather than lending against it — $21M last quarter, counted separately from the asset-finance loan book.
  • Other fee incomeService$74M last quarter, from tax-credit deals and arrangements that hand part of the bank's loan risk to other investors.
  • Veritex HoldingsBrandThe Dallas bank bought in October 2025 — about $12.0B of assets and $9.3B of loans — the first of the two deals.
  • Enterprise AI programProductA company-wide push with five stated uses, credited with automating parts of the merger conversion work. What it costs is not disclosed.
  • Residential mortgage and home equityProduct line

    Home loans and borrowing against the value of a house — roughly 18% of the loan book; fees from writing and selling those loans ran $53M last quarter.

  • Equipment and asset financeProduct line

    Lending against the equipment companies run on. Huntington says it ranks fifth in the country, with the fourth quarter seasonally its strongest.

  • Specialty verticalsProduct line

    Fifteen lending teams each built around one kind of borrower — investment funds, healthcare companies, other financial institutions, Native American enterprises, corporate mortgage borrowers.

  • SBA lendingProduct line

    Government-backed small-business loans. Management said in October 2025 that Huntington was the number one such lender in Texas.

  • Distribution financeProduct line

    Lending that lets dealers stock inventory they have not sold yet; balances swing with the season, once falling $747M in a single quarter.

  • Customer deposit and loan feesService

    Account and loan charges paid by customers — $128M last quarter, up 19% on a year earlier once the acquisitions are set aside.

  • Private bankService

    Banking and lending for wealthier households, run out of the branch franchise and feeding customers into the wealth business.

  • Huntington insuranceService

    Insurance sold alongside the banking products; $29M last quarter, a small line that barely moves quarter to quarter.

  • Leasing revenueService

    Income from leasing equipment out rather than lending against it — $21M last quarter, counted separately from the asset-finance loan book.

  • Other fee incomeService

    $74M last quarter, from tax-credit deals and arrangements that hand part of the bank's loan risk to other investors.

  • Veritex HoldingsBrand

    The Dallas bank bought in October 2025 — about $12.0B of assets and $9.3B of loans — the first of the two deals.

  • Enterprise AI programProduct

    A company-wide push with five stated uses, credited with automating parts of the merger conversion work. What it costs is not disclosed.