The Hartford (HIG)
Underwriter of business insurance, AARP-linked auto and home policies, and employer-sponsored benefits.
Something off on this page? Send us feedback.
The Hartford sells insurance to American businesses, mostly small ones, and disability and life cover to employers through their benefits plans. It also insures cars and homes, most of it reached through an exclusive endorsement from AARP, the membership group for older Americans. Premiums arrive before claims are paid, so the money waiting in between is invested. The commercial and workplace lines are growing; the household book is shrinking.
Item facts: FY2025 · year ended Dec 31, 2025, from filings, earnings calls and company pages.
Judgment weights, not filed revenue
The band summarizes business focus and direction. ~ marks estimates.
8 in detail · 10 more below

Small Business
Property, liability, workers' compensation and van cover bundled for firms with payrolls under $20 million, sold through agents. The single largest slice of the company, and the fastest-growing of its three commercial units last quarter.
Competes with Select Accounts (Travelers) · Chubb Small Commercial (Chubb)
In plain English
Think of the dentist's office, the plumbing contractor, the corner restaurant. Each one needs cover for the building, for a customer who slips on the floor, for an employee hurt on the job, for the van outside. The Hartford sells all of that as one bundle.
Agents and brokers do the selling, and more than three in four new quotes are priced and issued by machine within minutes, with nobody in the loop. The average policy costs under five thousand dollars a year, so this only works at volume — well over a million of them. Each customer is small enough that losing any one of them means nothing.

Group Disability and Paid Leave
Replaces part of a worker's pay when illness or injury stops them working, and now runs the paid family leave several states require. About $3.6 billion of premium in 2025; more people are claiming, so prices are going up.
Competes with Unum group disability (Unum) · Workplace Solutions disability (Lincoln Financial)
In plain English
A paycheck that keeps arriving when you cannot work — that is the entire product. The employer buys it for the whole staff, and if someone is off with a back injury or a long illness, the insurer sends a share of their wages for as long as the medical evidence holds.
The same claims machinery now handles the paid family and medical leave that a growing list of states requires, three more of them switching on in 2026, which is why the book keeps expanding. Earnings hang on how many people claim and for how long: claims came in heavier than expected through 2026, and double-digit price increases are being filed behind them. LIMRA counts The Hartford first in this business; AM Best's tally still puts Unum on top.

Group Life
Life and accident cover bought by employers for their staff, about $2.6 billion of premium in 2025. Claim costs dropped hard after 2022 — the quiet repair job that lifted the whole benefits segment's margin.
Competes with MetLife group life (MetLife) · Group Insurance life (Prudential) · Securian group life (Securian)
In plain English
Cover bought by the boss, not by you. A company signs its whole workforce up under one contract, pays the premium, and if a worker dies the family receives a lump sum.
Because the staff are enrolled together there is nothing to sell person by person, and the policy usually rides along with the disability plan on the same broker's paperwork — the second item on an order the customer was already placing. What is left over is premiums minus death claims, and that gap has swung a long way: claims cost 87 cents of every premium dollar in 2022 and 76 cents in 2025, as working-age deaths fell back. Little of that was anyone's decision.

Equitable Employee Benefits acquisition
Agreed in August 2026: Equitable's workplace benefits book — life, disability, paid leave, supplemental health, dental and vision — with roughly $500 million of annual premium, about 300 staff and its benefits software. Expected to close by year-end.
Competes with Unum group disability (Unum) · MetLife group life (MetLife)
In plain English
Buying customers rather than winning them one at a time. Equitable, another US benefits carrier, is handing over its employer-benefits business: the employers already paying premiums, the roughly three hundred people who run the operation, and the technology they administer it on.
About half a billion dollars of yearly premium arrives in one go and lands on claims and broker machinery The Hartford already owns — the same overhead with more customers spread over it, which is where the arithmetic works. The price was not disclosed. A bought book only earns its keep if those employers renew once the letterhead changes.

Middle & Large Business
Commercial cover for mid-sized firms up to national accounts, placed by brokers. The strained unit: in the latest quarter it kept only about five cents of each premium dollar, and it swallowed extra reserves for older liability and commercial-vehicle claims.
Competes with Business Insurance middle market (Travelers) · Chubb Major Accounts (Chubb)
In plain English
Move up from the corner restaurant to a manufacturer with plants in several states and insurance stops being a bundle off the shelf. A broker takes the risk round several carriers, terms get argued over line by line, and the price is whatever the contest settles on.
The money works the same way — premiums in, claims out, keep the difference — except here the difference is thin. Prices on large property have been falling, big fire losses landed, and claims from 2023 and 2024 turned out worse than the money set aside for them: more injured people now arrive with a lawyer and a deadline attached to their demand, which raises what an old case finally costs.

Global Specialty
The awkward risks: marine, professional liability, surety bonds, specialty property, plus a Lloyd's of London syndicate and reinsurance written for other insurers. The best-earning commercial unit — roughly fourteen cents of margin per premium dollar last quarter.
Competes with Beazley Lloyd's syndicates (Beazley) · E&S specialty casualty (W. R. Berkley) · Markel specialty (Markel)
In plain English
Ordinary insurers will not touch a cargo of machinery crossing an ocean, a surgeon's exposure to being sued, or a builder's promise that the bridge will actually be finished. Specialists will, and they price accordingly.
The Hartford writes this through wholesale brokers and through its own syndicate at Lloyd's of London — the old marketplace where members club together to back risks too odd for one company to carry alone. It also insures other insurers, taking a slice of their losses in return for a slice of their premium. This is the most profitable stretch of the commercial book, though costs crept up lately on overseas claims and technology spending.

AARP Auto and Home Program
Car and home cover sold straight to AARP's members under an exclusive endorsement running to January 2033 — one relationship behind roughly a ninth of company revenue. It is shrinking: premiums fell 7% last quarter even as prices rose.
Competes with GEICO direct auto (Berkshire Hathaway) · Progressive Direct auto (Progressive)
In plain English
AARP is the big American membership organisation for older people, and since 1984 it has told its members that if they want car or home insurance, this is the company to call. Nobody else gets that endorsement.
The member calls or clicks and buys directly, with no agent in between; the endorsement reaches roughly thirty-eight million members and supplies most of the household premium The Hartford collects. That makes it the company's single biggest dependency, and it rests on an agreement that runs out at the start of 2033. Meanwhile the book is getting smaller, policies walking out faster than the price rises on the ones that stay can replace them.

Agency Auto, Home & Umbrella (Prevail)
The same household cover, sold through independent agents instead of direct — live in about two dozen states in mid-2026, thirty targeted by early 2027. Roughly a fifth of household premium, and the only part of it growing.
Competes with Travelers Personal Insurance (Travelers) · Erie agency auto & home (Erie Insurance) · Auto-Owners auto & home (Auto-Owners)
In plain English
A product that spent years being sold only over the phone and the web, now put in other people's hands. The Hartford rebuilt its car, home and umbrella cover on newer software and, from July 2025, handed it to the independent agents who already sell its commercial policies — agents who can put a family's cars and house on one bill, which is how about three in four of its new home policies are written.
Every new state needs its rates and wording approved by that state's regulator, so the map fills in slowly: roughly two dozen states by mid-2026, thirty aimed at for early 2027. Small today, and management says reaching the size of the AARP book will take years.
Small BusinessProperty, liability, workers' compensation and van cover bundled for firms with payrolls under $20 million, sold through agents. The single largest slice of the company, and the fastest-growing of its three commercial units last quarter.
Property, liability, workers' compensation and van cover bundled for firms with payrolls under $20 million, sold through agents. The single largest slice of the company, and the fastest-growing of its three commercial units last quarter.
In plain English
Think of the dentist's office, the plumbing contractor, the corner restaurant. Each one needs cover for the building, for a customer who slips on the floor, for an employee hurt on the job, for the van outside. The Hartford sells all of that as one bundle.
Agents and brokers do the selling, and more than three in four new quotes are priced and issued by machine within minutes, with nobody in the loop. The average policy costs under five thousand dollars a year, so this only works at volume — well over a million of them. Each customer is small enough that losing any one of them means nothing.
Competes with Select Accounts (Travelers) · Chubb Small Commercial (Chubb)
Group Disability and Paid LeaveReplaces part of a worker's pay when illness or injury stops them working, and now runs the paid family leave several states require. About $3.6 billion of premium in 2025; more people are claiming, so prices are going up.
Replaces part of a worker's pay when illness or injury stops them working, and now runs the paid family leave several states require. About $3.6 billion of premium in 2025; more people are claiming, so prices are going up.
In plain English
A paycheck that keeps arriving when you cannot work — that is the entire product. The employer buys it for the whole staff, and if someone is off with a back injury or a long illness, the insurer sends a share of their wages for as long as the medical evidence holds.
The same claims machinery now handles the paid family and medical leave that a growing list of states requires, three more of them switching on in 2026, which is why the book keeps expanding. Earnings hang on how many people claim and for how long: claims came in heavier than expected through 2026, and double-digit price increases are being filed behind them. LIMRA counts The Hartford first in this business; AM Best's tally still puts Unum on top.
Competes with Unum group disability (Unum) · Workplace Solutions disability (Lincoln Financial)
Group LifeLife and accident cover bought by employers for their staff, about $2.6 billion of premium in 2025. Claim costs dropped hard after 2022 — the quiet repair job that lifted the whole benefits segment's margin.
Life and accident cover bought by employers for their staff, about $2.6 billion of premium in 2025. Claim costs dropped hard after 2022 — the quiet repair job that lifted the whole benefits segment's margin.
In plain English
Cover bought by the boss, not by you. A company signs its whole workforce up under one contract, pays the premium, and if a worker dies the family receives a lump sum.
Because the staff are enrolled together there is nothing to sell person by person, and the policy usually rides along with the disability plan on the same broker's paperwork — the second item on an order the customer was already placing. What is left over is premiums minus death claims, and that gap has swung a long way: claims cost 87 cents of every premium dollar in 2022 and 76 cents in 2025, as working-age deaths fell back. Little of that was anyone's decision.
Competes with MetLife group life (MetLife) · Group Insurance life (Prudential) · Securian group life (Securian)
Equitable Employee Benefits acquisitionAgreed in August 2026: Equitable's workplace benefits book — life, disability, paid leave, supplemental health, dental and vision — with roughly $500 million of annual premium, about 300 staff and its benefits software. Expected to close by year-end.
Agreed in August 2026: Equitable's workplace benefits book — life, disability, paid leave, supplemental health, dental and vision — with roughly $500 million of annual premium, about 300 staff and its benefits software. Expected to close by year-end.
In plain English
Buying customers rather than winning them one at a time. Equitable, another US benefits carrier, is handing over its employer-benefits business: the employers already paying premiums, the roughly three hundred people who run the operation, and the technology they administer it on.
About half a billion dollars of yearly premium arrives in one go and lands on claims and broker machinery The Hartford already owns — the same overhead with more customers spread over it, which is where the arithmetic works. The price was not disclosed. A bought book only earns its keep if those employers renew once the letterhead changes.
Competes with Unum group disability (Unum) · MetLife group life (MetLife)
Middle & Large BusinessCommercial cover for mid-sized firms up to national accounts, placed by brokers. The strained unit: in the latest quarter it kept only about five cents of each premium dollar, and it swallowed extra reserves for older liability and commercial-vehicle claims.
Commercial cover for mid-sized firms up to national accounts, placed by brokers. The strained unit: in the latest quarter it kept only about five cents of each premium dollar, and it swallowed extra reserves for older liability and commercial-vehicle claims.
In plain English
Move up from the corner restaurant to a manufacturer with plants in several states and insurance stops being a bundle off the shelf. A broker takes the risk round several carriers, terms get argued over line by line, and the price is whatever the contest settles on.
The money works the same way — premiums in, claims out, keep the difference — except here the difference is thin. Prices on large property have been falling, big fire losses landed, and claims from 2023 and 2024 turned out worse than the money set aside for them: more injured people now arrive with a lawyer and a deadline attached to their demand, which raises what an old case finally costs.
Competes with Business Insurance middle market (Travelers) · Chubb Major Accounts (Chubb)
Global SpecialtyThe awkward risks: marine, professional liability, surety bonds, specialty property, plus a Lloyd's of London syndicate and reinsurance written for other insurers. The best-earning commercial unit — roughly fourteen cents of margin per premium dollar last quarter.
The awkward risks: marine, professional liability, surety bonds, specialty property, plus a Lloyd's of London syndicate and reinsurance written for other insurers. The best-earning commercial unit — roughly fourteen cents of margin per premium dollar last quarter.
In plain English
Ordinary insurers will not touch a cargo of machinery crossing an ocean, a surgeon's exposure to being sued, or a builder's promise that the bridge will actually be finished. Specialists will, and they price accordingly.
The Hartford writes this through wholesale brokers and through its own syndicate at Lloyd's of London — the old marketplace where members club together to back risks too odd for one company to carry alone. It also insures other insurers, taking a slice of their losses in return for a slice of their premium. This is the most profitable stretch of the commercial book, though costs crept up lately on overseas claims and technology spending.
Competes with Beazley Lloyd's syndicates (Beazley) · E&S specialty casualty (W. R. Berkley) · Markel specialty (Markel)
AARP Auto and Home ProgramCar and home cover sold straight to AARP's members under an exclusive endorsement running to January 2033 — one relationship behind roughly a ninth of company revenue. It is shrinking: premiums fell 7% last quarter even as prices rose.
Car and home cover sold straight to AARP's members under an exclusive endorsement running to January 2033 — one relationship behind roughly a ninth of company revenue. It is shrinking: premiums fell 7% last quarter even as prices rose.
In plain English
AARP is the big American membership organisation for older people, and since 1984 it has told its members that if they want car or home insurance, this is the company to call. Nobody else gets that endorsement.
The member calls or clicks and buys directly, with no agent in between; the endorsement reaches roughly thirty-eight million members and supplies most of the household premium The Hartford collects. That makes it the company's single biggest dependency, and it rests on an agreement that runs out at the start of 2033. Meanwhile the book is getting smaller, policies walking out faster than the price rises on the ones that stay can replace them.
Competes with GEICO direct auto (Berkshire Hathaway) · Progressive Direct auto (Progressive)
Agency Auto, Home & Umbrella (Prevail)The same household cover, sold through independent agents instead of direct — live in about two dozen states in mid-2026, thirty targeted by early 2027. Roughly a fifth of household premium, and the only part of it growing.
The same household cover, sold through independent agents instead of direct — live in about two dozen states in mid-2026, thirty targeted by early 2027. Roughly a fifth of household premium, and the only part of it growing.
In plain English
A product that spent years being sold only over the phone and the web, now put in other people's hands. The Hartford rebuilt its car, home and umbrella cover on newer software and, from July 2025, handed it to the independent agents who already sell its commercial policies — agents who can put a family's cars and house on one bill, which is how about three in four of its new home policies are written.
Every new state needs its rates and wording approved by that state's regulator, so the map fills in slowly: roughly two dozen states by mid-2026, thirty aimed at for early 2027. Small today, and management says reaching the size of the AARP book will take years.
Competes with Travelers Personal Insurance (Travelers) · Erie agency auto & home (Erie Insurance) · Auto-Owners auto & home (Auto-Owners)
Named in filings, launches and programs
- The investment portfolioPlatformThe $64B pile of bonds and loans standing behind the promises; it threw off $2.9B before tax in 2025, counted inside each segment's revenue rather than on its own.
- SpectrumProductThe off-the-shelf small-business package — building, liability and more in one contract; prices rose through 2024 and 2025, and a next-generation version is being built.
- E&S and wholesale bindingProduct lineCover for risks standard insurers turn down — umbrella, general liability, property — sold through wholesale brokers; management sizes the book at about $300M.
- Lloyd's Syndicate 1221BrandThe Hartford's own underwriting shop inside Lloyd's of London, where it is the sole backer; approved to write £355m of premium in 2024.
- Global ReProduct lineInsurance sold to other insurers — property, liability, surety, marine, agriculture — about $974M of premium written in 2025, inside Global Specialty.
- National accounts and programsProduct lineThe biggest employers and packaged schemes inside the mid-size unit; grew 17% in one quarter of 2025, and the mix shift toward it has thinned margins.
- Supplemental health, dental and visionProduct lineSold alongside disability and life to the same employers — $479M of 2025 premium, the small third leg of the benefits business.
- Coalition UK cyber partnershipCustomer programSince late 2024 The Hartford takes an agreed share of the UK cyber policies written by Coalition, a cyber-insurance specialist.
- Leave Lens and Absence DashboardPlatformPatented tools that let employers see who is out on leave and why — service wrapped around the disability and leave business.
- Cloud migration and AI stackPlatform · RampingAbout $2.3B of technology spending over five years: every application onto rented computing by 2028, and AI summarising medical records for claims handlers.
The investment portfolioPlatform
The $64B pile of bonds and loans standing behind the promises; it threw off $2.9B before tax in 2025, counted inside each segment's revenue rather than on its own.
SpectrumProduct
The off-the-shelf small-business package — building, liability and more in one contract; prices rose through 2024 and 2025, and a next-generation version is being built.
E&S and wholesale bindingProduct line
Cover for risks standard insurers turn down — umbrella, general liability, property — sold through wholesale brokers; management sizes the book at about $300M.
Lloyd's Syndicate 1221Brand
The Hartford's own underwriting shop inside Lloyd's of London, where it is the sole backer; approved to write £355m of premium in 2024.
Global ReProduct line
Insurance sold to other insurers — property, liability, surety, marine, agriculture — about $974M of premium written in 2025, inside Global Specialty.
National accounts and programsProduct line
The biggest employers and packaged schemes inside the mid-size unit; grew 17% in one quarter of 2025, and the mix shift toward it has thinned margins.
Supplemental health, dental and visionProduct line
Sold alongside disability and life to the same employers — $479M of 2025 premium, the small third leg of the benefits business.
Coalition UK cyber partnershipCustomer program
Since late 2024 The Hartford takes an agreed share of the UK cyber policies written by Coalition, a cyber-insurance specialist.
Leave Lens and Absence DashboardPlatform
Patented tools that let employers see who is out on leave and why — service wrapped around the disability and leave business.
Cloud migration and AI stackPlatform · Ramping
About $2.3B of technology spending over five years: every application onto rented computing by 2028, and AI summarising medical records for claims handlers.




